'Advertise on All WNY'

Most Recent News

Buffalo State honors 103 at annual Scholar-Athlete Luncheon


BUFFALO -- Buffalo State honored 103 student-athletes at its 20th Annual Scholar-Athlete Academic Luncheon to recognize student-athletes that have earned a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher for at least three semesters at the college today in the Houston Gym. The event was part of Buffalo State's programming to celebrate D3 Week, an initiative to create increased awareness of NCAA Division III athletics.

Following opening remarks by athletics director Jerry Boyes, president Dr. Katherine Conway-Turner addressed the audience. The 103 student-athletes honored represented 46-percent of the total number of student-athletes eligible for the recognition, having been at Buffalo State for at least three semesters.  Among the honorees were 36 that have maintained a 3.50 GPA or higher.  In addition, Buffalo State formally inducted 15 juniors into its second class in the National College Athlete Honors Society Chi Alpha Epsilon, as each honoree received a pin from provost Dr. Melanie Perreault.  The Bengals inducted 30 members last year into its inaugural class.

The new Chi Alph Epsilon inductees included: Dan Corbi (football), Haley Kempf (lacrosse), Zach Nieminen (hockey), Melissa Woods (softball), Malyssa Chanthasoto (soccer), Torrie Debbins (lacrosse), Allie Harford (volleyball), Zach Stein (hockey), Christine Harris (hockey), Erin Gehen (hockey), Ian Sylves (hockey), Jessica McCarey (soccer), Mohamed Koanda (track), Brody Power (hockey), and Caitie Horvatits (hockey).

Seniors from women's soccer Jenna Smolinski and from women's hockey Viivi Vaattovaara were the top-honorees.  Smolinski has maintained a 3.96 cumulative GPA in health and wellness, and Vaattovaara has also maintained a 3.96 as a biotechnology major.

The athletics department would like to recognize and thank the following invited faculty and staff members that were present at the invitation of individual student-athletes: Josie Adamo (University College), Derek Beahm (Biology), Clarissa Breen (Criminal Justice), Gary Berger (Business), Michael DeMarco (Physics), Jean DiPirro (Psychology), Shannon Hockwater (Health & Wellness), Deborah Hovland (Modern & Classical Languages), Paul Koestler (Mathematics), Joelle Leclaire (Economics & Finance), Jonathan Lindner (Center for Health & Social Research), Diane Marra (Health, Nutrition & Dietetics), Siobhan McCollum (Anthropology), Amy McMillan (Biology)