'Advertise on All WNY'

Most Recent News

Collins announces the winners of 2017 Congressional Art Competition


WASHINGTON, D.C. -- U.S. Rep. Chris Collins (NY-27) today released the following statement announcing the winner, runner up, and honorable mentions of the 2017 Congressional Art Competition.

Congressman Collins joined participating high school students and their families at the Roz Steiner Art Gallery, located on the Genesee Community College campus, for a brief reception before announcing this year's winner.

"The Congressional Art Competition is a great opportunity for high school students throughout New York's 27th Congressional District to showcase their artistic talents and creativity," Collins said. "While each of the 71 artwork submissions were extremely well done, our competition judges selected Leah Buddenhagen, from Niagara Wheatfield Senior High School, as this year's winner. I look forward to welcoming Leah and her family to Washington D.C. to join high school artists from throughout the nation."

This year's Congressional Art Competition displayed the artwork of 71 high school students from eighteen high schools within New York's 27th Congressional District. The 2017 winner, Leah Buddenhagen, will receive a round trip flight to Washington, D.C., where she will join hundreds of high school artists nationwide to see their artwork displayed in the U.S. Capitol for one year.
Pictures from the 2017 Congressional Art Competition, the presentation of awards, and reception can be viewed on Congressman Collins' office Flickr album.

2017 Congressional Art Competition Winners
First Place
Leah Buddenhagen, Niagara Wheatfield Senior High School
Runner Up
Maya Lake, Medina High School
Honorable Mentions
Madeline Keenan, Batavia High School
Zackary Dubel, Iroquois Central High School

Congressman Chris Collins would like to extend a special thanks to Genesee Community College and President James Sunser, the art competition judges, Roz Steiner Art Gallery Director Mary Jo Whitman and Associate Professor of Fine Arts Heather Jones, and all of the teachers, parents and students who participated in this year's Congressional Art Competition for making this event a success.