'Advertise on All WNY'

Most Recent News

NU student-athletes honored at 3rd Annual Purple Eagle Awards Show


NIAGARA FALLS -- The Niagara University Department of Athletics staff, coaches and student-athletes hosted the Third Annual Purple Eagles Award Show on Monday at the Rapids Theatre.

The third-annual event combines the traditional student-athlete banquet with an ESPN's ESPY-esque format where student-athletes receive accolades for their performances during the season.

The hosts for the evening were Shawn Warner (Swimming and Diving) and Tiffany Corselli (Women's Basketball). The duo was joined by a variety of student-athletes, who helped deliver 26 awards during the evening's festivities.

For the first year, the Faculty Appreciation Award was given to Professor Nanette Harmon.

The awards and their winners follow:

  • Coach of the Year – Rob McCoy (Baseball)
  • Community Athlete of the Year – Kevin Patterson (Hockey)
  • Best Play of the Year – Tiffany Corselli Making Game-Tying Three To Send MAAC Tournament Game To Overtime
  • Male Scholar-Athlete Award – Kevin Patterson (Hockey) 
  • Female Scholar-Athlete Award – Chanelle Ward (Softball)
  • Male Team with Highest GPA – Men's Cross Country
  • Female Team with Highest GPA – Women's Soccer
  • Newcomer of the Year – Kahlil Dukes (Men's Basketball)
  • Team of the Year – Women's Lacrosse
  • Individual Performance of the year –  Kaylee Stroemple (Women's Basketball)
  • Purple Pride (Women) –  Caroline Hampton (Women's Cross County/Track and Field)
  • Purple Pride (Men) – Joel Gerberich (Men's Soccer)
  • Comeback Athlete of the Year – Rylee Hunt (Volleyball)
  • Faculty Appreciation Award – Professor Nanette Harmon
  • Upset Of the Year – Baseball vs. #12 Virginia
  • Best Season Start (Spring Sports) – Baseball
  • Community Team of the Year – Baseball
  • Best Team Player – Geoff Seto (Baseball)
  • Athletes 4 Athletes – Swimming and Diving
  • Purple Eagle Award – Erin Cronin (Women's Basketball Team Manager)
  • Comeback Win of the Year – Men's Hockey vs. RIT
  • Male Purple Heart Award – Tanner Morrey (Swimming and Diving)
  • Female Purple Heart Award – Tiffany Corselli (Women's Basketball)
  • Vincent O'Malley Male Student-Athlete of the Year – Rachel MacCheyne (Lacrosse)
  • Vincent O'Malley Female Student-Athlete of the Year – Shawn Warner (Swimming and Diving)
  • The Believe NU Award – Selena Cerra (Women's Golf)