'Advertise on All WNY'

Most Recent News

Buffalo State honors 102 at annual Scholar-Athlete Luncheon


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Buffalo State honored 102 student-athletes at its 21st Annual Scholar-Athlete Academic Luncheon to recognize student-athletes that have earned a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher for at least three semesters at the college today in the Houston Gym.  The event was part of Buffalo State's programming to celebrate D3 Week, an initiative to create increased awareness of NCAA Division III athletics.

Following opening remarks by athletics director Jerry Boyes, president Dr. Katherine Conway-Turner addressed the audience. The 102 student-athletes honored represented 46-percent of the total number of student-athletes eligible for the recognition, having been at Buffalo State for at least three semesters.  Among the honorees were 36 that have maintained a 3.50 GPA or higher.  In addition, Buffalo State formally inducted 17 new members into its third class in the National College Athlete Honors Society Chi Alpha Epsilon, as each honoree received a pin from provost Dr. Melanie Perreault.  The Bengals inducted 45 members in the first two classes the past two years.

The new Chi Alpha Sigma inductees included: Tim Petranchuk (Swimming), Georgia Kleiner (Hockey), Brennen Baker (Swimming), Emma Ruggiero (Hockey), Ronni Kordrupel (Cross Country/Track), Mohamed Gomaa (Cross Country/Track), Bri Carroll (Hockey), Megan Reukauf (Hockey), Rachel Lenard (Hockey), Victoria Colotti (Soccer), Emily DeCock (Hockey), Billy Carroll (Football), Danielle Szymkowiak (Softball), Kelly Lindner (Diving), Mac Wood (Hockey), Nick Gray (Track), and Cassie O'Hern (Softball).

The athletics department would like to recognize and thank the following invited faculty and staff members that were present at the invitation of individual student-athletes: Gary Berger (Business), Stephanie Goldberg (Engineering), David Kukulka (Engineering), Naomi McKay (Psychology), Lori Till (Hospitality), Diane Marra (Natural & Social Sciences), Steve Peraza (History), Sumana Silverheels (Accessibility Services).

No comments