'Advertise on All WNY'

Most Recent News

First year head coaches help usher in next era


No alternative text provided.As part of "Griffin Success Week", today we take a closer look at five head coaches who made their mark in their first year in charge of their respective programs.

To see previous installments from "Griffin Success Week", click HERE and HERE.

Kerri Brace – Rowing
• Named the program's head coach Aug. 1, 2017.
• Guided the Griffs to a third-place finish at the 2018 MAAC Rowing Championships.
• Had four rowers (Patricia BeaulieuJessica FabianSydney Bichsel and Lexi Heinz) earn All-MAAC accolades.
• The same four rowers also earned 2018 Division I All-Conference honors from the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association.
• A total of 11 student-athletes were recognized as members of the 2018 MAAC All-Academic Team.
Allison Daley – Women's Lacrosse
• Named the third head coach in program history Jan. 4, 2018.
• Led the program to an 11-9 overall record to go with a 6-2 mark in MAAC play.
• The Griffs earned a share of the 2018 MAAC Women's Lacrosse regular-season championship.
• Earned a 10-9 win over nationally-ranked Yale at home in three overtimes.
• Had two players (Jen Reininger and Jourdan Roemer) earn major MAAC individual awards.
Trevor Large – Hockey
• Named the seventh head coach in program history April 28, 2017.
• Led Canisius to a 19-17-2 overall record to go with a 17-11-0 ledger in Atlantic Hockey contests.
• Guided the Griffs to a second-place finish in Atlantic Hockey standings.
• His first team advanced to the semifinal round of the 2018 Atlantic Hockey Conference Tournament, the program's fifth semifinal round appearance in the last six years.
• Coached Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year, and Hobey Baker Award Top-10 finalist, Dylan McLaughlin.
Matt Mazurek – Baseball
• Took over the program on Sept. 6, 2017, making him just the fourth head baseball coach at Canisius in the last 40 years.
• His first team posted an overall record of 35-22 to go with a 16-8 conference record.
• Led the team to its third MAAC Baseball Championship crown, highlighted by an 11-0 victory over Monmouth in the tournament title game.
• Saw five of his players earn All-MAAC honors, highlighted by MAAC Pitcher of the Year J.P. Stevenson and MAAC Relief Pitcher of the Year Tyler Smith.
• Smith, who was drafted in the eighth round of the 2018 MLB Entry Draft by the Los Angeles Angels, became the 13th player from the Canisius program to be selected in the draft since 2004.
Mark Miyashita – Men's Lacrosse
• Named the fourth head coach in program history Aug. 4, 2017.
• Led the Griffs to an 8-9 overall record and a 3-3 mark in league play.
• Guided the Blue and Gold to the 2018 MAAC Men's Lacrosse Championship, the program's third league title and first since 2012.
• As MAAC Champions, Canisius hosted Robert Morris in the 2018 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse first-round game, marking the first time in school history a Canisius program has hosted an NCAA Tournament game on campus.
• A school-record nine players earned All-MAAC accolades, highlighted by senior Connor Kearnan, who was named the MAAC Offensive Player of the Year.

No comments