'Advertise on All WNY'

Most Recent News

UB's Tyler Mabry named to John Mackey Award preseason watch list


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- University at Buffalo tight end Tyler Mabry was named to the John Mackey Watch List on Friday morning, the Friends of John Mackey announced.  The Mackey Award annually recognizes the outstanding tight end in college football.  Mabry is one of four players from the Mid-American Conference on the list. 
Mabry started all 12 games for the Bulls in 2017. He led all UB tight ends in receiving with 24 receptions for 242 yards and a touchdown on the year. The junior Michigan native registered a catch in 11 of 12 games.
The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2018 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 5, 2018 and then presented live on December 6, 2018 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. All future announcements can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com.
NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.
The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fifteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04), Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Green Bay Packers, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08), D.J. Williams ('10),  Dwayne Allen ('11) of the New England Patriots, Tyler Eifert ('12)  of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Nick O'Leary ('14) of the Buffalo Bills, Hunter Henry ('15) of the Los Angeles Chargers, Jake Butt (16') of the Denver Broncos and 2017 John Mackey Award recipient Mark Andrews of the Baltimore Ravens.
Click here for the 2018 John Mackey Watch List.
Buffalo Players on 2018 NCFAA Watch Lists
Bednarik Award: Khalil Hodge
Maxwell Award: Anthony Johnson
Davey O'Brien Award: Tyree Jackson
Doak Walker AwardEmmanuel Reed
Biletnikoff Award: Anthony Johnson
John Mackey Award: Tyler Mabry

No comments