'Advertise on All WNY'

Most Recent News

UB center James O’Hagan earns 1958 Lambert Cup Football Team Endowed Scholarship


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- James O'Hagan, a senior center on the University at Buffalo football team, is the 2018 recipient of the 1958 Lambert Cup Football Team Endowed Scholarship. Members of the 1958 football team created this scholarship, and many former players have since contributed to the endowment fund. 
Entering his fourth season as a starter and second as team captain, O'Hagan has been the anchor of the Bulls' offensive line. The Seaford, NY native is a two-time third-team All-MAC pick and a three-time selection to the Rimington Trophy watch list – given annually to the top center in college football.
"It's a tremendous honor to be awarded the 1958 Lambert Cup Football Team Endowed Scholarship," O'Hagan said. "The 1958 team was an example of a team that put their teammates before themselves. To be recognized as the winner of this scholarship makes me extremely proud of what I have been able to do at UB."
The scholarship was started by members of the celebrated 1958 Lambert Cup Football Team that was invited to play in the Tangerine Bowl – the school's first bowl game invitation. However, the team was informed that the site of the bowl game had a strict rule that blacks and whites could not play on the same field at the same time. This would mean that Willie Evans and Mike Wilson, both African-American and two of the team's best players, would not be able to play in the game. Following a brief meeting, the team decided that if Evans and Wilson couldn't play in the game, no one on the team would participate. Thus, turning down the bid to play in the Tangerine Bowl.
1958 Lambert Cup Football Endowed Scholarships Winners2011 – John Syty
2012 – Graham Whinery
2013 – Colby Way
2014 – Cortney Lester
2015 – Matt Weiser
2016 – Boise Ross
2016 – Solomon Jackson (in memoriam)
2017 – Jarrett Franklin
2018 – James O'Hagan

No comments